587,227 active members*
3,849 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Newbie questions - EAS Microstep

Newbie questions - EAS Microstep

I'm considering converting my X2 mill to CNC, but I'm very new to all this.

Has anyone had experience with the EAS Microstep driver boards?
    http://www.embeddedtronics.com/microstep.html

This driver is rated for 3amp at 55v, the stepper motor that I've been looking into (NEMA 23) are rated at 2amp at 4.5v. Is the Microstep board too much overkill?

I know you can over drive the voltage to decrease inductance. How much is too much overdriving in voltage?

This driver says it works with 4, 6, and 8 wire steper motors, but looking at the manual for it, it looks like you have to wire the motor to look like a 4 wire motor. Is this a problem?

It's a lot of questions, thanks in advance.
    David

Hi there,

I don't have experience with the EAS drivers, but I can probably help a bit with some of the other stuff.

That board should be fine for those steppers. You should be able to limit the current to 2A and then overdrive the steppers all the way to 40 or 50 volts. My steppers are rated at 4.5 volts and I run them at 40V. This is limited by the driver that I use. There is a ballpark figure floating around for how much to overdrive your steppers, but I can't remember it and I'm not going to guess. Anyone?

I don't know the different wiring methods off-hand either, but it is no problem to wire 6 or 8 wire motors in a 4 wire configuration. Quite straightforward.

Regards
    Warren
    Have a nice day...

They say to not exceed 25 times the rated motor voltage. I'm running my set-up at about 20 times rated I think.