588,525 active members*
6,642 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > Commercial CNC Wood Routers > what machine would I need to make this cut?

what machine would I need to make this cut?

I am thinking of getting a cdc router to do jobs for others and make products and signs and such anything I can think of to help out my income. I make wood hand planes for a living right now.
    here is what I was thinking this is not exactly what I want to do I would be after just a simple v cut out of the center of the block. one angle stays the same the otehr can be 45 to 60 degrees. depth of cut is about 3" max in hard tropical woods. is this even practial to do? I thought of a cnc mill to do it. but I don't think I could make much of a income doing metal work.

Steve,
    With what I am seeing or think I am seeing, this is not going to be readily done on a mill or router.

If first sawing the rough block in half and then machining each half would be acceptable then it looks very CNC doable.
    This would add additional steps, the cutting of two blocks for one part and then gluing/screwing/dowel them together before profiling the outside, so this may not be practical.
    These steps could also offer opportunity to add some contrast using dark wood plugs to the sides where you cap off the screw or dowel pin counter bore, this may even be a look you would like.

Ken

Looks to me like it's a composite of at least 5 parts bonded together , If so I'd have thought that almost any decent router would make the parts

The cuts are just what a shaper does. As you have angled cuts from both the X plane and the Y plane, you need a five axis CNC shaper to do this. Complex machine.

As Arthur said, any router should be able to do the seperate pieces before assembly. Once assemble, though, it would be nearly impossible to cut out the inside, without needing a lot of handwork afterward.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset