588,410 active members*
5,412 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Good benchtop CNC mill for RC hobby?

Question Good benchtop CNC mill for RC hobby?

I want a CNC machine for my radio control hobby. I race RC cars and trucks, which is a lot of fun. I am always modding parts and "inventing" things, but am truly limited in my ability to produce quality parts with the tools I have on hand. Therefore I'm searching for a small CNC mill. I was thinking of buying a lathe, but that is too limiting, in my opinion. I'd rather have a full mill.

Most of my parts would be plastic, aluminum or mild steel. I want a mill that is completely built and ready to use, requiring only training on my part.

I have no machinist experience or schooling, though I've been scratch-building slot cars, RC cars and real cars for almost 40 years, so I'm mechanically inclined. I'm pretty adept and experienced with computers, so it would be just a matter of learning the CNC software, which would be a challenge, I'm sure.........

I have limited space in my garage, so I don't want a huge machine. I'd like to keep the price around $5,000 to $6,000 or so, if possible, but I'd spend more to get a capable machine.

I would be grateful for some recommendations and I apologize if this question has been asked a hundred times already. I did search some in the forums, but did not find anything that resembled my question.

thanks.......................

I just place an order for a super X3 from http://www.syil.com .
    I can't tell you how good it is because I have not receive it yet, but from what I have read in this forum, the X3 is a capable mill... and it will fit in your budget and you will have some money left to buy some tooling to go with it.

I'm in the same hobby also... RC car, RC plane, RC boat... RC everything lol

CrazyRonny :cheers: