588,616 active members*
4,604 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Smile First attempt aluminum cnc router

Hello all, I've been browsing this site for a couple months now, but as my machine actually starts to come together I thought I might post what I'm building. I started off designing an MDF machine, ordered the screws/rails/linear bearings etc. and a xylotex 3 axis kit. Then at work one day a good size t-slot constructed "machine" came up for grabs, so I jumped on that (for free) and started the design phase all over again. The size and shape of my router table was somewhat dictated by the sizes of the extrusions I had to work with, it was alot like playing with lego to get the right size and shape that I wanted. (I didn't want to cut too many parts because most pieces already have end connectors built in, so there's no need for "L" brackets or anything to attach 2 extrusions together.) I was able to match the size of the table pretty close to the size of screws and rails I had already ordered. The PC and xylotex electronics are mounted in a large hammond enclosure that I got for free with the "machine". The monitor stand may change, I was simply playing with blocks trying to see what might work, it's not as rigid as I would like. The router table itself is ROCK SOLID.