588,208 active members*
4,072 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > building parts of my machine from acrylic?

building parts of my machine from acrylic?

hi guys i am the proud new owner of a hobbycnc.com 3 axis router. this router was built by my friend and he decided he did not want it anymore so now it is mine. so overall i am happy with the router but i really dont like the gantry on it. although it is functional for the original purpose i would like to do some 3d carving with the machine so i will need more z travel than the current design allows.

so my plan is to keep the base platform for the gantry and just build a new top for it. so my question is can i use 1/2 inch cell cast acrylic to build the support structure for my new gantry? the original gantry was built with 1/2 inch plywood so i think my new gantry should be just as strong with the acrylic. but since i have never built a machine before i thought i would ask for your opinions.

thanks for you help.

I built my first router out of HDPE. Far easier to cut than acrylic (which has a tendency to melt), and its not as brittle. Very easy to tap as well. It acts like soft aluminum in a way!

What are your machine specs? How much do you want to extend the z?

currently the usable bed is 12x24 inches and i have a max z travel of 1 inch. my plan is to give myself around 3 inches of z travel. my current gantry has a base that is 7 inches long and the total gantry height is 10 inches. the width of the gantry is 15 inches wide. in the current configuration the z axis is limeted by the guide rods for the y axis. also the current gantry is 1 inch off the bed.

so my plan is to use the same basic design but raise the top bar of the gantry up 2 inches and move the z axis so that the entire availible z travel would be limeted by the screw length instead of the distance between the guide rods for the y