587,370 active members*
3,210 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Daewoo/Doosan > Help programming octagons with different radius corners

Help programming octagons with different radius corners

We have a puma 3100uly with Fanuc i series controller. I'm new to the y-axis in the lathes and haven't done much with it besides milling wrench flats. I got a job that has 5 different sized octagons over the length of the part. I'm not really sure what the best way to go about this would be. The bad part is the print calls out a different radius on the corners of each octagon. I've done hexs before, in a lathe without y axis, just using c and x axis but that's as close to this as I've done. And i didn't have to radius the edges on that. If anyone has an example program of a simple octagon that would be awesome. Here's one of the octagons.

Attachment 194250

The easiest way I can think of to do this is to turn the area to 1.400 and then mill 8 separate flats using the y axis. that would leave me with the correct radius in the corners. The problem with that is the other octagons don't work out that easy. The smallest one is .429 across the flats with a .125 radius on the corners. That's where I'm getting stuck. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	88.1 KB 
ID:	194262

Are you programming with a CAM system or writing code yourself?
    The larger octogons shouldn't be too hard..

Ok. The more I look at this the more I wonder..
    Are you milling with the face of the cutter or the periphery?