587,112 active members*
3,220 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Mini Lathe > Help me buy my first Mini Lathe
Page 1 of 2 12

Question Help me buy my first Mini Lathe

I'm so excited I can hardly wait to get started but I don't want to rush this purchase.
    First off let me tell you I have little to no experience with a lathe. I have operated one before (Large industrial) but it was set up for me and a way I went. I am however comfortable with running machinery. I worked in an industrial shop for 11 years setting up and running all sorts of CNC equipment (Mostly turrets and brakes) and now I work for a large CNC manufacturer as a technician.
    The reason I'm interested in a mini lathe is I want to make my own 1/25th scale model parts. I'm HEAVY into model building and aluminium parts are so expensive it wont take long for this lathe to pay it's self off. I'm sure I will find all sorts of neat things to make with it(and maybe even change my interests a bit) but the scale parts are my focus right now.

I started off looking at hobby lathes. I found this Taig. http://www.hobby-lobby.com/taig.htm Not really much of a lathe.
    Then my boss pointed me to this site and I started looking around. Well I found for a bit more money I can get A LOT better lathe!
    So now I'm looking locally in Calgary and I found this 7X12 Force for $1000.00 http://www.houseoftools.com/product.htm?pid=18461
    I checked it out and they have something like a 30 piece tool package to go with it. I saw a 4 jaw chuck and some other items wraped up but am unsure what all comes with it. Then from this site I found Busy Bee and they have a 7 X 8 on for $600.00 http://www.busybeetools.com/ (I can't seen to link directly to the page)(Model B1979C)