588,451 active members*
5,493 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Torsion Box Construction

I'm starting a new build an an integral part of that build is a 3" torsion box. I have never built one before and have been viewing different techniques, mostly on wood working sites. However, they all seem to emphasis the need to construct the box on a level surface and they go to great lengths to do so.

I feel like I am missing something. The way I see it is if all the ribs and sides are cut to exactly the same height and glue is applied to all the mating surfaces, when you apply the skin and nail it together with a pneumatic nailer, all the surfaces will pull tight and it will be flat and level to the skin. I think you should be able to assemble it on a gravel driveway if you wanted.

Does anyone have experience building one and did you go to great lengths to ensure a flat building surface?

The problem you run into is that the ideal parts you refer to will not, in fact, be what you use to build the torsion box. There will be variations in both dimension and angle. Nails and glue allow for quite a bit of variety in joints, as well.

All the tiny variations from perfection add up. I have built torsion boxes, taking great care to start from a surface as flat and level as I could achieve, and the end result was slightly warped. You couldn't see it, by eye, but it was measurable, if you went looking for it. Once built, a torsion box will be extremely strong and rigid, but whether it's flat is up to you. I definitely recommend that you do everything you can to stack the deck in your favor.

Luke

The surface you work on needs to be flat but it does not need to be level.

But for most it is easiest to set it up flat if you use a level

If it is not flat, the torsion box will not be flat either.
    Sven
    http://www.puresven.com/?q=building-cnc-router