588,094 active members*
4,967 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

G12.1 mitsubishi controls

I am new to this forum and was wondering if someone can help me with a situation. I have about 20 years of machining experience but only 2 years of CNC experience. I have 4 Polygim(Diamond/Cubic) 25CSL swiss lathes that have Mitsubishi controls.

My dilema:
    I have to use my live tooling up top (endmill) to turn a radius on two sides of a rectangular shape. I read through the Mitsubishi manual and found that I need to use a G12.1 code to make this happen. I am not familiar with this particular code and would like someone to walk me through it. Maybe a snippet of a program? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

G12.1 is an option, is yours turned on?
    The tool holder needs to be a "face milling" holder i.e. the endmill is in-line with the stock, not perpendicular or "cross milling" holder, do you have one of these?
    Does your machine have Y-axis "up top"?
    If you have the option, the correct holder and do not have Y-axis than G12.1 is what you need.

Answer these, and I will assist you further.
    Control the process, not the product!
    Machining is more science than art, master the science and the artistry will be evident.

Quote Originally Posted by ProProcess View Post
    G12.1 is an option, is yours turned on?
    The tool holder needs to be a "face milling" holder i.e. the endmill is in-line with the stock, not perpendicular or "cross milling" holder, do you have one of these?
    Does your machine have Y-axis "up top"?
    If you have the option, the correct holder and do not have Y-axis than G12.1 is what you need.

Answer these, and I will assist you further.
    I called up the G12.1 in the program to turn on circular interpolation. To turn it off the manual stated to use G13.1. Is that right? I used every configuration I know of to get the G12.1 to work and nothing. I either got a P32 error or a 6** error.