588,663 active members*
4,591 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Is this possible to make? (Rectangular inner cutout with sharp corners)
Page 1 of 3 123

Is this possible to make? (Rectangular inner cutout with sharp corners)

I'm new to machining and was wondering if it is possible to make something like this with a milling machine.

Basically its a rectangular inner cutout with SHARP 90 degree corners. Can this be done or does it require an EDM machine to do this sort of thing?

Thanks!

Sure, just use a 0" diameter endmill. Seriously you could use your mill to broach the corners or as you suggested use EDM.

Alan

That's wire or sinker EDM territory there.
    Joe

Mill out the pocket and file the corners to shape.

Thanks guys - well you answered my question. Its a job for EDM.

Thanks!

Why couldn't he use a slotting tool?

Becasue any rotating tool will leave a radii in the corner no matter how small it is...

Okay... mill and use scrollsaw...

what about just running a cutter down the corners with the centre of the cutter being on the right angle of corner this will able an insert with right angles to go right to the edges
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails sq.jpg  

Actually there is a cutter that can make this shape. I think it was inverted by a German guy. I'll try to find a reference to it on the web and post the link.

Cheers

Derek
    <insert witty comment here>
    derekj308

This is something but not exactly what I was looking for. A little outdated perhaps but shows it ain't new.

http://query.nytimes.com/mem/archive...629C946896D6CF
    derekj308

Quote Originally Posted by acidcustom View Post
    what about just running a cutter down the corners with the centre of the cutter being on the right angle of corner this will able an insert with right angles to go right to the edges