588,380 active members*
5,548 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Best way to make this part
Page 1 of 2 12

Best way to make this part

I have a few parts that I want to make, or have made. It's a reed cut out of .005" shim stock. I would like the edges to be very smooth. EDM? Laser cut? Waterjet? There is a very small radius (.005") that I'm concerned about, and wondering if a laser beam can go that small, or a jet of water.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails reed1.jpg   reed2.jpg  

Quote Originally Posted by skmetal7 View Post
    I have a few parts that I want to make, or have made. It's a reed cut out of .005" shim stock. I would like the edges to be very smooth. EDM? Laser cut? Waterjet? There is a very small radius (.005") that I'm concerned about, and wondering if a laser beam can go that small, or a jet of water.
    I have no experience with Water Jet, EDM, or Lasers but am interested in the suggestions that you will get. This should make for an educational read.

Sorry I couldn't help.
    Toby D.
    "Imagination and Memory are but one thing, but for divers considerations have divers names"
    Schwarzwald

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

www.refractotech.com

As far as Water Jet, the smallest nozzle size i've seen is 0.020" diameter

EDM. I have never used it but from what I have read this would likely be the only method.

Water jet cannot go small enough.

With laser the piercing action would would leave a rough spot.

With EDM the electrode is machined to the precise shape that you need and the cut comes out minimally larger.

Your check book will need to be in a good state of health.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

Quote Originally Posted by Geof View Post