587,914 active members*
3,773 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > SprutCAM > parting off a 3d model...
Page 1 of 2 12

parting off a 3d model...

Hey Folks!
    So, I have this model, see... (shades of bad movies)

Seriously though, I'm new to sprutcam, their website is down, and I'm trying to make it do something useful. I think I have most of what I want done, and now I'm trying to get it to "part off" the final part.
    I have a 3d model from Alibre, import it as iges, and setup the 4th axis along the y-axis. This let me turn the model all around the axis and mill every side but both ends of the y-axis.
    I'd really like to mill off the end face, and then the mounting face as my final steps, but I can't seem to get the software to realize I actually want it to do that. Seems like a simple line, full depth would do it, but I can't seem to figure it out.
    Any kind soul out there with hints and tips / tell me how to do it?

Thanks!
    Jason

Hi Jason, it's kinda difficult to advise you without seeing the project that you are working on, but, if it is what I think you are trying to do, I would:
    1. Select 2D Geometry mode
    2. make sure 'Snap to 3D model' is turned on
    3. Create a line which will be the edge you want to cut by snapping to the appropriate parts of the Alibre model
    4. In Machining, select 2D Contouring and use the 'Line' you've just created as the Model

Don't forget with 2D Contouring you will have to enter the Top and Bottom levels for machining, and also be careful about whether the cutter is on the left - right or centre of the contour with Compensation turned on/off as required.
    If you aren't sure about how to set any of these last things, double click the curve (Line) that you are using in the Model list and you can set them all from the window that opens.

HTH

Dave

Quote Originally Posted by S4 Monster View Post