588,499 active members*
4,878 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Unhappy Vibration IS your enemy!

Vibration is your enemy!

I am writing this little epistle in an effort to help some of the newer people and stop them from making the mistakes that I have made.

As many know, I have converted a mill/drill to cnc. This has included servos, gecko drives and ball screws which is the primary topic at hand. I have had this conversion working for about a year now and lately have found that things weren’t working quite as they should and did originally. Namely, I was hearing some strange noises from the Y axis and on occasion and the drive would fault out when homing or getting near the maximum limit and at times, there was a “ticking” noise in the X axis. This is not a good sign, so I figured out (after a few weeks of procrastination) it was time to tear into the machine and have a look see at the problem(s).

Being a noob myself, there have been many times that I have not used proper speeds, feeds etc and my machine has complained, groaned, snapped bits and generally vibrated like crazy. Well, when I started to dig into things, I found several problems:

1. I had forgotten to “lock-tite” a couple of the “set screws” for the ball nuts in their holders.
    2. I had used “set screws” to lock down the ball nuts in their holders.
    3. It is either possible that I had failed to tighten a screw (or vibration had loosened it).
    4. I found the Y nut had actually rotated and was hitting the base casting (this was the “strange” sound).

Lessons Learned:

1. When contemplating your assembly, be like an aircraft pilot, set down and WRITE out a check list of what you think will be needed (AND FOLLOW IT).
    2. Vibration is your enemy! (Can’t say this one enough). If a process if vibrating, find out why and fix it!
    3. Lock-Tite is your friend. Use it liberally.