587,420 active members*
3,168 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 4 123

Question New K2 2514 Router makes noise

I am new to CNC and I just bought a K2 2514 router straight from the manufacturer. I have set it up with steppers and a G540. I am happy with it in almost every way. Two concerns though:

First, it makes a weird rumbling noise when I move it in the x direction (longest axis). The noise is most pronounced when I do a G0 jog in the x direction. It also only occurs when the machine is about 2/3 down the x axis. Meaning when the axis is all the way down at either end of the table, I can jog and it moves very quietly. Both other axes move silently. Also, I can stop the rumbling noise simply by pushing on one side of the gantry as it moves. I have to push it in a specific direction though. I think it might be coming from the lead screw as I have gently pushed the lead screw as it is jogging and I can get the noise to stop.... This leads me to my second question:

Every once in a while my CNC makes popping noises. I think I have narrowed the origin of these noises to the kerk lead screw nuts. Is it possible that the anti-backlash mechanism is compressing and then all of the sudden uncompressing? Could it be that they need to be lubricated? Do lead-screws need lubrication?

thanks for any insight,

- Will

3in1 oil and lubricate first!!

jim
    James McGrew CAMaster 508 ATC
    www.mcgrewwoodwork.com http://dropc.am/p/EJaKyl

Thanks for the reply but could you be a bit more specific. Do I oil both the linear bearings and the lead screws?

my machine has hiwin bearings and when you said ticking i ahd heard that before so i oiled the bearings and the rails, solved my problem

the ticking was odd but it went away

jim
    James McGrew CAMaster 508 ATC
    www.mcgrewwoodwork.com http://dropc.am/p/EJaKyl

I have posted a video of my machine on youtube. Please watch it to listen to the problems I describe below.