587,579 active members*
3,440 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Starting a hobbyist endmill store for Aussies

Hi fellow Aussie Machinists,

I have been extremely annoyed with what the retail price is for end mills, even more so that if I want to buy endmills at a good price I have to import from china and wait weeks at a time.
    I have been saving up for a while and contacted a company that sells in bulk. I would like to import a bunch of endmills in for cheap and sell them for cheap. I am a student looking for a few extra bob to get me through the week. I would import the basics for most hobbyists like myself.

My questions are;
    Is anyone looking for an alternative, less expensive source of endmills.
    If so what prices would everyone want to see?
    What sizes, and types would you need most?
    Solid Carbide or HSS?
    Any questions I havent asked but should?

Like I said im a student if I made $200 a week off this it would make my studies allot easier (thanks Abbot). Only want to do this to make machining more affordable and to help the hobbyists like myself.
    Thanks guys.

Re: Starting a hobbyist endmill store for Aussies

I wish you the best of luck in this and it's great your having a go, it will be very hard competing with the Chinese on their own products but if you actually have it in stock and can supply quickly I think you might do okay!

A bit hard to tell if your talking end mills for cnc or for milling machines, I'm assuming cnc. I would think 1 and 2 flute carbide for general work to be the most popular, and 3 flute spiral carbides for aluminium also. 6mm shank I'd suspect to be the most popular, followed by 1/8th shanks. Ball nose in HSS in both shanks would also be a commonly bought cutter.

cheers, Ian
    It's rumoured that everytime someone buys a TB6560 based board, an engineer cries!

Metric endmills 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 20 HSS and Carbide
    Ballnose cutters 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 Carbide only