588,542 active members*
4,911 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Need Mach 2 configuration help for Sherline 5410

Okay, let me start off by saying I'm a complete and udder newb when it comes to CNC. I recently bought a Sherline CNC system from The Sherline Shop, so it comes with Sherline's controller and stepper motors and whatnot. I decided not to use the EMC software simply for the fact that I don't use Linux. So here I am trying to configure the Mach 2 software to work with my setup, and I don't know the first place to start.

I'm an engineer, so I'm not a stupid person. I've read the Mach 2 manual 5 times now, and it all sounds like Greek. For the first time in a LONG time, I am completely lost. Can someone please help me out as to where I need to start? Here's what I have done so far.

1. Mill assembled
    2. Computer setup
    3. Controller attached to computer and stepper motors
    4. Mach 2 software installed
    5. Read Mach 2 manual, and now more confused than ever

Anybody help me out on the next few steps?

Thanks!
    Ryan

I am very new to this also, (first post here in fact) so I can't help you.

But I just ordered basically the same setup (from the same place even). And I have been struggling with the descision as to whether to run linux and the EMC software, or Mach2/XP. I am more familiar with XP, I'm a windows programmer by trade, so I am leaning towards Mach 2. While searching this board for info on the subject, your post is about all I could find.

Is there a default setup file for the sherline driver box with Mach2 that we can just load up then proceed to the testing procedure?

Hi newbs, and I say that with a very humble heart because I was there not too long ago. While I may not be able to hlep you as much as you need I will do what I can.