588,190 active members*
4,110 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > EdgeCam > select multiple geometry for profiling

select multiple geometry for profiling

I select the lines first

the start points want to be here for some reason

so I change them to here

then after inputting needed data, this is what I get

WTF is going on here?
    Am I supposed to be able to select multiple lines for a profiling operation or not?
    do I have to create a profiling operation for each of the 50 lines Im trying to cut here?
    If you can't tell, Im trying to rough off the corners of a square block that will become round
    simple enough, right?
    WRONG

Im a newb with this program so take it easy on me
    and thanks for any help

The arrows are showing you a climb cut on the geometry you selected. Each toolpath is trying to avoid violating the previous toolpath. That's my guess for the crazy output.

Are you trying to rough off the outside? Your doing it the hard way.
    Can I suggest...
    http://www.tipsforcadcam.com/product/TFM-EC-M1-CD

Mike Mattera
    Tips For Manufacturing Training CD's, DVD's for Mastercam, SolidWorks, Inventor, G-Code Training & More
    http://www.tipsforcadcam.com

Look, I hope nobody feels they'll undercut Mike's sales pitch by chiming in with a little help on this.

I know I'm doing it the hard way, but Im stuck with the hard way since my license level is entry milling.
    I got close by using a roughing operation and applying stock and boundary but I haven't got the toolpath to be as efficient as I can with multiple profiling ops, and even though I select climb for the roughing cycle, it still makes conventional cuts in some places.

I want to climb cut each pass then retract and rapid back to climb cut the next, and make all the passes for each corner before moving on to the next corner.

I just thought I would be able to select multiple chains for a single profile operation like I could in BobCAD.