587,316 active members*
3,470 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Talking Looking at Joe's 4 X 4 Hybrid (R&P)

Hi guys,

I'm new here but I'm seeing that Joe's Hybrid is a fine looking machine. My main question, for those that have built one is: Does the BOM have a list of ALL needed components?

I'm still learning about CNC and building these machines, and don't want to spend $460.00 to find out that I need to figure out what else I need. I know I'll probably be into it for another $2000 or so, but that I can handle. I can't handle spending almost $500.00 for plans that'll I'll never be able to figure out what I need to finish.

I'd appreciate anyone that's built one of these to give me an idea of how complete everything was.

Thanks for the help.

From what I understand, you'll be looking at about $2500 minimum, up to maybe $3500. If you buy the plans for $100, you'll have access to his forum, where you should be able to get all the info you need.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

I think a machine is easily doable for $2500 now with the R&P, it cuts a lot of the cost out in bolts and bearings, but makes up for it in other places.

Can be done, the rack and pinion is a super-solid and fast machine, definitely enough for any hobbyist, sub-production machine. It actually is close to production capable with some of the upgrades on the forum, but it does make the cost go up some.

The superBOM is very complete and even lists vendor options with links in an Excel spreadsheet. I built mine at the end of last year being a complete new guy it only took me about a month to have it running and most of that time was waiting on the mail.