587,383 active members*
3,329 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 5 123

Stepper motors stalling

I'm new with this stuff so..
    I connected everything and started testing with Mach3..
    The steppers run fine at about max 500rpm, but stall if I try to go any faster (no load attached to the steppers).
    I *think* I have the steppers wired correctly, but I'm not 100% sure. (Bipolar parallel, steppers has 8 wires).
    The drivers are set to 3A, 48V. The steppers are rated 3A/phase.

Strange to me is, if I lower the amps to 0.7A I can run the steppers at approx 1000rpm..

Is this normal? Or do I have a problem somewhere? I thought more than 500rpm should be possible..

Thanks!

Have you got the details of the motor and stepper driver you are using?

Quote Originally Posted by hignog View Post
    Have you got the details of the motor and stepper driver you are using?
    Motor (Brand & model i don't know)
    Bip. Parallel:
    0.65Ohm
    3,2mH
    3,54Nm

Driver Leadshine ME742:
    http://www.leadshine.com/UploadFile/...ves/ME742m.pdf

If the motor is an 8 wire motor the 3A maybe the current in series so you may need to set the curernt to 6A?
    Also i hear that some manufactures have the name plate on an 8 wire motor as the unipolar current, so if this is right, it could be 4.2A in parallel.
    I would check into the specifications of the motor further.

Thank you for your help

The current is 2.12A in serial (bipolar) according to the motor data sheet.

??? How can you have a motor data sheet, and still not know the brand or model of the motor ???
    Is this some kind of joke?

Ok, so the current in parallel is 4.2A.

Quote Originally Posted by hub View Post
    Thank you for your help

The current is 2.12A in serial (bipolar) according to the motor data sheet.

may it is mid point resonance prolem

Quote Originally Posted by Dorsal View Post
    ??? How can you have a motor data sheet, and still not know the brand or model of the motor ???