588,002 active members*
3,215 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Shopmaster/Shoptask > Potential Shopmaster Patriot Customer on the Fence

Potential Shopmaster Patriot Customer on the Fence

Hello,

I am considering a 2010 ShopMaster Patriot and wanted to solicit some feedback
    on this, because I am wavering a bit. I am primarily interested in from a hobby
    perspective - have some limited experience on knee mills and lathes (Jet). What
    I find interesting in the Patriot is the potential for space savings and the cnc option
    (I have no experience with this, but am a software developer by trade and have
    been itching to dink around).

So some general questions about the ShopMaster (and combo machines in general)
    is the ability to get accuracy out of them. It seems they lack the ability to tram
    the mill head. The fact that the ways are used for both the mill and the lathe would
    seem to conflict how to adjust both the mill and the lathe as well. Can someone
    enlighten me a bit here? I have searched around to no avail.

WRT the CNC capabilities of the Shopmaster, any comments here? Can it be used
    in the manual mode as well with this option?

Any general comments regarding the quality of the machines now that they are being
    manufactured in ISO-certified plants? Anybody check the tolerances as published?
    Maybe ShopMaster does before sending out?

If anyone is in the SF bay area (or thereabouts) willing to share a peek and experiences,
    it would be much appreciated.

Regards,

--Dan