588,205 active members*
4,535 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New G Weike owner needing lens advice

Hi everyone,

I'm a real newbie with a 2 week old 60 watt G Weike LG500 'Desk' model. I must say I am pleased as can be with my laser other than the width of the cut when cutting 1mm grey board. I make 3 dimensional paper models and use the 1mm board for ribs, formers etc. With these models there is very little room for error and loosing .3mm or more from a cut is not good. Unfortunately, Tina my excellent sales manager says that my lens cannot be changed to another because of the size of the machine. I see that many folks here are changing out their lenses on smaller machines and I'm really messed if I can't get a finer cut. My specs are f50 focus lens with f20 mirrors. I believe (from measuring with calipers) that it uses a 20 mm lens. The nozzle itself from top to bottom is roughly 41 mm. The mirror is roughly 25 mm

Please, I realize this is a crappy intro but I could use some advice

Best regards
    Ron

First, make sure that your lens is in near perfect focus. If you are cutting while out of focus, the beam width will be larger. I would suggest that you manually set the focus to be sure it is correct. The machine settings could be off a few mm. Search the forum for info on establishing the optimum focal length (this may vary somewhat from one lens to another) so your auto focus could be a little off.

Second, you can change to a 1.5" ( it sounds like you now have a 2") focal lens. This lens will create a slightly smaller beam, but not by much. These lens are available on eBay in the $25 to $40 price range.

Hi Ron,

You should be able to compensate for your kerf in your design program, just expand your borders by the kerf-width. If you can't do that for some reason: