Hi,
I am a relative beginner to CAD Software.
First I am only a home shop player. A man grew up in physical dimensions but deep inside he is still a boy. Only his toys are getting more expensive.

I have been looking for a CAD software to use to design what I am doing in my home workshop. I am here referring to a few projects like:
Knifemaker's belt sander, milling attachment, QCTP, tool holders, knife sharpening jig, several jigs for my lathe, camping equipment, a cigarette lighter, bullet mold, attachments for my muzzle loading equipment, etc. So it is for hobby use and not for commercial.

I have played with Blender 3D, Wings, but this is not actually for CAD, but more for 3D films. There are not the ability to draw up a set of plans. I am prepared to design something in 3D and screen capture the 3D part to an open space of the 2D plan and just add dimensions, but I know it is out there somewhere. Blender can round off the edges perfectly but that influence the scale.

I then bought TurboCAD 3D Deluxe 17 (all I could afford). The learning curve for the 2D is not so bad with the 2D, but the tutorials for 3D you have to pay nearly as much as the program itself.

If you look at the comparison card between the Deluxe and the Turbo at:

http://www.turbocad.com/Portals/1/Ch...%20compare.pdf

I feel that I have wasted my money for a 3D package, but not for 2D. The following elements are not available for the Deluxe but only for the Turbo and Platinum:
3D Solid Modeling and Editing
3D Terrain Modeling
3D Shelling, Lofting and Surfaces
3D Deformable Modeling
3D Pattern Copy Tools
Extrude to Face, Twisted Extrude Tools
Imprint Tool
Parametric Part Maker and Manager
History Tree with Editor
Architectural

I have search further and there were some other free 3D software but what stood out are the following: