588,323 active members*
5,231 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Very Basic Scale DXF Question

Question Very Basic Scale DXF Question

Hello all and thanks in advance for your patience and assistance

I am very new to this BobCAD program and thus far I am adapting fairly well. The question I have is when I merge a DXF file into v17 no matter the original dimensions of the drawing it comes in at like 300+ scale and then I must then scale it down to scale 1 in order to have an accurate cut of course. The problem is I am only seeing the ability to scale both length and width simultaneously? So how do I or am I able to scale either just the length or width of the original merged drawing independently?

Hi,

I am not familiar with BobCAD, but I had a scale problem in the past that I solved by scaling the objects prior to exporting rather than after importing into the CAM software I was using at the time. Just a thought, although you would think there would be the ability to scale individual axis in BobCAD. Good luck with it.

Steve

Thanks Steve and yea I also thought of that but in order to have the drawing at 1:1 in BobCAD I had to scale the original drawing down to microscopic size. And when that occurs it then doesn't accurately import the drawing into BobCAD A vicious cycle for sure but thanks for the input and I will keep at it as we all do

awm, You might get a quicker response at the Bobcad forum. I read a post where the Bobcad guy told someone to post there as their technicians monitor that forum.

T

Very true buscht, guess will try to post it over there as well just from what I have seen (read) they are not always the quickest to respond but I guess if I don't post they cannot respond right? Thanks for the suggestion :cheers:

Originally posted by buscht