588,239 active members*
4,288 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Newbie linux CAD?

OK I'm not even a Newbie yet. I havn't been able to download EMC2, but I have made a personal committment to migrate from Windows to LINUX.
    Anyway I have tons of stuff to convert so I want to do this well enough to survive the process.
    I hate to give up Mach3, but EMC2 looks pretty good.

Anyway Question; What is a good LINUX CAD package to use with EMC2? 3D is not an immediate concern.

BTW A friend is downloading EMC2/UBUNTU for me, my server blocks me when I try to download a file that large.
    Thanks,
    Bob B.

I do cad on my windows machine then transfer it to the machine controller.

I was a complete CNC noob too, and now that I have most of the bugs worked out (I hope) I really like emc.

Sheetcam does have a linux distribution and it's a free download, provided your parts don't require more than 160 lines of g code.

Cad with Windows - CNC with Linux

Quote Originally Posted by lumberjack_jeff View Post
    I do cad on my windows machine then transfer it to the machine controller.

I was a complete CNC noob too, and now that I have most of the bugs worked out (I hope) I really like emc.

Sheetcam does have a linux distribution and it's a free download, provided your parts don't require more than 160 lines of g code.
    Thanks Jeff,
    After doing more research that is what I decided to do.
    Establish a dual boot Windows/Linux system.
    Also I will check out sheetcam after I get to a stable EMC2 system.
    If there are too many things on my plate it usually falls on the floor.

Bob B.

Eureka I have Linux installed!

Just an update for anybody that might be thinking about Linux CNC.
    After my past experiences installing software I try to avoid it if possible.
    Installing Linux from UBUNTU was very easy and it runs a lot faster than XP.
    My wife has decided that she can do without Windows too.