587,129 active members*
3,270 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

choosing a mill

Hi guys: I'm looking to get into CNC. I have limited experience machining things by hand and no prior experience with CNC. I'm pretty handy with computers and electronics though.

I would like to get (or build) a benchtop CNC mill. After looking at different mills, I realized I simply don't know enough to choose one. Hence, I would appreciate some advice from folks here who are more knowledgeable than I.

What I'm looking for is accuracy above all. I would like to machine small parts accurate down to 0.001 inch in all dimensions (ideally), sometimes in very complex shapes. I don't care how long it takes, as long as the machine can run unsupervised. I don't need power such as (eg) to make heavy cuts in steel etc. I will probably work on mainly plastic and (soft) aluminum, very rarely steel. The largest part I foresee working on is roughly 8 x 2 x 2 in (and typical sizes are much smaller, 2 x 2 x 2). I'm not adverse to putting together a CNC retrofit kit on a non-CNC machine, or wiring my own controller/steppers/electronics. I'm not looking necessarily for something that works out of the box, but I would prefer to not have to make my own (eg) motor mounts, or have to modify castings, polish ways, etc etc. I would like to keep this under a $2k budget (excluding tooling).