588,018 active members*
8,275 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Turning large threaded rod

Turning large threaded rod

This is a 1-3/8" rolled acme thread, long bars fed into a mazak lathe

I'm turning the threads off the end of these parts to a diameter just under the root of the thread, then cut off length is 1-3/8"

The turned diameter of some parts is not concentric to the thread, and the root of the thread is visible spiraling through when it gets too bad

Im clamping with fresh bored jaws and max pressure
    This seems to be worse so far at the end of the bar with maybe 3' to go

Every part I've measured, good or bad, on the comparator the threads look perfect and stay right on the line when revolved

Im completely new to turning, so any advise at all is welcomed

thanks,

-Kenny

I realized this is a recurring problem with this machine.
    Last time we ran material as big as 1-3/8", the bar feeder was vibrating very badly and the finish on the part was coming out like crap - and it got really bad half-way through the bar.

This material is even worse because it's 1-3/8" with a core diameter of .915 at the root of the acme thread. You can feel it sag when you pick up a full length bar in the middle.

This is an older machine and the feeder channel is pretty beat up and Im told nobody's ever done any real maintenance to the machine.

Are you using a spindle liner?
    Is the bed of the bar feeder properly adjusted to the centerline?

no spindle liners
    and no adjustment in the bar-feeder

I've been at this shop for 6 weeks and I've never heard of either
    they run different size material all the time and the only change is the chuck jaws

if using a spindle liner,
    the pusher diameter has to be same size or smaller than the material, right?
    the pusher on this machine is 1-3/4", which is bigger than what Im running