587,708 active members*
3,302 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Hobby Projects > Hobby Discussion > using cnc machine to sculpt clay ?

using cnc machine to sculpt clay ?

My brother is very good at model clay sculpting. It takes him along time to create his pieces. Would a cnc machine be able to duplicate /sculpt his art work from model clay? I am a newb at cnc i only heard of the machine 2 days ago.

All a cnc machine is, is a computer controled rotary tool.
    Normal clay would wrap around the tool and just make a mess.
    If the clay was dried as you would before fireing, I would think it possible.
    You would need to generate the code to control the machine. This is done using CAD/CAM software. This is not something cheap or easy to learn. It is possible to copy an object but again this needs software and a probe fitted to a machine.
    There is a lot you can learn simply by looking around this site, so have a good look around. There are people here cutting all sorts of material.
    Paul

These gus are cutting clay. http://tarus.com/styling.htm
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Quote Originally Posted by ger21
    These gus are cutting clay. http://tarus.com/styling.htm

Cool link Ger, I had never heard of these guys before.

As Paul suggests, it will really boil down to the consistency of the clay, and what typ of cutter is used. I plan on trying this myself, but am really more interested in machining fired ceramics.

Carlo