587,213 active members*
3,307 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    12

    Using G-Code for setting offsets

    Within the last couple of weeks, there was a post in one of the forums about using a G10 line to set tool length offsets, cutter comp, work co-ordinates and other related values. I have been unable to find that post again and was hoping someone out there could direct me to it.

    Thanks in advance,

    Firedog

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    988
    Are you on a Fanuc type control?

    Depending of the offset type you are using and I'll assume this is a mill. Type A ( Single offset only ), Type B (Length and wear offsets), Type C (length, length wear, geometry, geometry wear).

    For Type A:
    G90 G10 L11 P??? R??? (L11 = offsetting, P = offset number, R = value)

    For Type B:
    G90 G10 L10 P??? R??? (L10 = length offsetting, P = offset number, R = value)
    G90 G10 L11 L??? R??? (L11 = wear offsetting, P = offset number, R = value)

    For Type C:
    G90 G10 L10 P??? R??? (L10 = length offsetting, P = offset number, R = value)
    G90 G10 L11 L??? R??? (L11 = "H" wear offsetting, P = offset number, R = value)
    G90 G10 L12 P??? R??? (L12 = "D" geometry offsetting, P = offset number, R = value)
    G90 G10 L13 L??? R??? (L13 = "D" wear offsetting, P = offset number, R = value)


    HTH :cheers: :cheers:
    It's just a part..... cutter still goes round and round....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    12
    Thanks psychomill!!
    It is a Fanuc type control, and it is a mill. The post I remember seeing would put this at the end of the program, after the M30. The operator would start the program the first time at the very end, after the M30, to load the values. After that, all adjustments would be made on the offset pages, not in the program.

    I was hoping to find that post again so I could use the same sequence they were using.

    Thanks,
    Firedog

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    93
    this is how we do it

    O2741 (0040-77741 2ND OP)
    /M0 (OPERATOR CHECK STOP)
    G10 L2 P1 J1 X-6.8311 Y-12.6290 Z-20.2510 B270.
    G10 L2 P2 J1 X-21.9588 Y-12.6290 Z-25.3986 B0
    G10 L2 P3 J1 X-1.6843 Y-12.6290 Z-25.3802 B180.

    but it has a yasnac control and it writes it to the x,y,z,b, offset every time it runs
    IF ITS NOT BROKE YOUR NOT TRYING HARD ENOUGH

    Ashes to ashes , dust to dust , If it wasnt for Harleys the fast lane would rust.

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    988
    I guess I forgot to add the G10s for work coordinates. Yasnacs use J offsets (G54 J1, G55 J4, G54J3 etc.) On Fanuc it will be like this:

    G10 L2 P1 X?? Y?? Z?? B?? (A?? if you have it or even C?? for 5axis)

    L2 = G54 ofsetting
    P? = offset number (1= G54, 2 = G55, 3 = G56 etc)

    Or for extended offsetting (G54.1):

    G10 L20 P1 X?? Y?? Z?? B?? etc, etc

    L20 = G54.1
    P?? = offset number
    It's just a part..... cutter still goes round and round....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    52
    Hi can anybody tell me,
    what is Q in G10 format. My m/c is cnc sliding head turning
    Format is something like this.G10 P...... X....... Z........R..... Q....?
    I heard that it is tool type from 1 to 9
    Does it affects the size of the part.

    Thanks in Advance

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2932
    It is the imaginary tip number (0-9) for use with G41/G42. If you don't program G41/G42, it doesn't do anything.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    52
    Hi
    My machine is tornos bechler enc 162 Fanuc OT. When i use tool for front turning i dont have any problem with diameters. But when i use the same tool for back turning , the first two diameters are coming correctly what i have mentioned in program, but later diameters are coming undersize and some are over sizes. I dont know why is this happening so. The only good news is that every subsequent part is having same variations. I dont know what to do. PLease help me.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1982
    chetan, Your explanation is very messy, but the problem is clear.
    You have several solutions here:
    1. Diagnose and remove the problem roots
    2. use cure #1
    3. use cure #2
    4. find better solution
    Detailed:
    1. You need to investigate, why this happens. Maybe problem is mechanical.
    2. You can use separate tool offsets. It doesn't helps much, if You cut the shape with different diameters by one tool.
    3. You can use separate zero offsets. This solution can partially compensate mechanical problem.
    4. You can combine some and find Yours.
    The main obstacle is that it in not clear, why it happens.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    122

    Re: Using G-Code for setting offsets

    Mitsubishi Meldas Programmed offset input; G10
    Function and purpose
    The amount of tool offset and workpiece offset can be set or changed by the G10 command. When
    commanded with absolute values (X,Z,R), the commanded offset amounts serve as the new
    amounts; when commanded with incremental values (U,W,C), the new offset amounts are
    equivalent to the commanded amounts plus the current offset amount settings.

    Command format
    (1) Workpiece offset input (L2)
    G10 L2 P X (U )Z (W ) ;
    P - Offset number
    X -X-axis offset amount (absolute)
    U -X-axis offset amount (incremental)
    Z -Z-axis offset amount (absolute)
    W -Z-axis offset amount (incremental)

    (2) Tool length offset input (L10)
    G10 L10 P X (U )Z (W )R (C )Q ;
    P - Offset number
    X - X-axis offset amount (absolute)
    U - X-axis offset amount (incremental)
    Z - Z-axis offset amount (absolute)
    W - Z-axis offset amount (incremental)
    R - Tool nose radius compensation amount (absolute)
    C - Tool nose radius compensation amount (incremental)
    Q - Hypothetical tool nose point

    (3) Tool nose wear offset input (L11)
    G10 L11 P X (U )Z (W )R (C )Q ;
    P -Offset number
    X - X-axis offset amount (absolute)
    U - X-axis offset amount (incremental)
    Z - Z-axis offset amount (absolute)
    W - Z-axis offset amount (incremental)
    R - Tool nose radius compensation amount (absolute)
    C - Tool nose radius compensation amount (incremental)
    Q -Hypothetical tool nose point


    (4) When there is no L command with tool length offset input (L10) or tool nose wear offset input
    (L11)
    Tool length offset input command : P = 10000 + offset number
    Tool nose wear offset input command : P = offset number
    (5) Offset input cancel G11 ;

Similar Threads

  1. Setting Tool and Work Offsets
    By Donkey Hotey in forum Haas Lathes
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 06-11-2015, 06:40 AM
  2. setting tool offsets
    By 356911914 in forum Hardinge Lathes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-08-2013, 05:33 PM
  3. Need help setting offsets
    By wiggles6983 in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-04-2011, 03:28 PM
  4. tool offsets setting
    By coykiesaol in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 09:46 AM
  5. setting tool offsets? 0M
    By OC_ in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2007, 01:52 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •