587,311 active members*
3,367 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > Drilling Problem with IJK
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13

    Drilling Problem with IJK

    I have a problem with this program.
    Could someone try it on their Fadal and see if it does the same thing?

    When the G73 with IJK is called the first time, it works fine.
    After that it gets erratic.(Initial peck reduces to "K" really quick)
    No crashing or anything like that.
    Stranglely though, it works fine again on or after a 180 degree rotation.(360/v3)
    Then becomes erratic again.
    Let me know if it does the same for you or if it works fine.
    It should do an initial peck of .3 then reduce by .04(.26, .22, .18 etc)to a mininum of .04(cause of v1 sends you from line 320 to line 324-328) R3=.04

    Note: I would not put a tool in T1 and set H1 to -10.00
    Set E1 to X0 Y0
    I took out M8's
    You can just count the pecks per hole.

    Thanks in advance,

    Joe

    %
    N1O1(Sample)
    #clear
    v1=1'for setting speeds and feeds
    v2=16'for setting location of y
    v3=5'number of patterns for g68
    v4=1'height, set tools from bottom of parts
    v9=1'set innner bolt circle
    v14=360/v3' set degrees
    v15=180/v3
    N317T1M6(1/4 DRILL)

    N318M1

    N319(MATERIAL SELECTION)

    N320#IF V1=1 THEN GOTO:SF16-1

    N321#IF V1=2 THEN GOTO:SF16-2

    N322#IF V1=3 THEN GOTO:SF16-3

    N323(SET SPEEDS AND FEEDS ACCORDINGLY)

    N324#:SF16-1

    N325S1500

    N326#R9=6.

    N327#R3=0.04

    N328#GOTO:T16

    N329#:SF16-2

    N330S2500

    N331#R9=10.

    N332#R3=0.04

    N333#GOTO:T16

    N334#:SF16-3

    N335S500

    N336#R9=1.5

    N337#R3=0.025

    N338(DRILL 1/4 HOLES)

    N339#:T16

    N340#R6= ((V2/2)-.5)'1ST Y POSITION

    N341G0G90G80X0Y+R6M3E1

    N342Z4.H1

    N345#R8=1

    N346#R7=V14

    N347#R6= ((V2/2)-.5)'1ST Y POSITION

    N348#R5= ((V2/2)-2.625)'2ND Y POSITION

    N349#R4=(V4+.1)'R LEVEL

    N350#IF V4 GT 1.275 THEN R1=83

    N351#IF V4 LE 1.275 THEN R1=73

    N352#:LOOP16

    N353G98G+R1X0Y+R6Z-0.125R+R4F+R9I-0.3J0.04K+R3

    N354Y+R5

    N355G80

    N356#R7=V14*R8

    N357G68R+R7X0Y0

    N358#R8=R8+1

    N359#IF R8 LE V3 THEN GOTO :LOOP16

    N360#R7=V15

    N361G68R+R7X0Y0

    N362#IF V9=2 THEN R2=3.3125

    N363#IF V9=1 THEN R2=4.6725

    N364G98G+R1X0Y+R2Z-0.125R+R4F+R9I-0.3J0.04K+R3

    N365Y-R2

    N366G80M5M9M49

    N367G69

    N880(THE END OF PROGRAM)

    N882G80

    N884G0G40G80M5M9

    N885Z0G53

    N887X0Y15.Z0E0H0

    N888M30

    %

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1389
    I am not good with macros, not even close, I just noticed it looks like you have an r3 value of .040 on 2 lines and and on another line .025
    wouldnt that varible need to be a differernt R number?

    N327#R3=0.04
    N332#R3=0.04
    N337#R3=0.025

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    No, with V1=1, @ N320, the program goes to(goto) label SF16-1(N324). It reads the information for speed, R9(feed), R3(Min Peck), then GOTO T16(N339) to start the drilling process. Therefore it skipped the other settings. V1 is an earlier input with (3) options, (1,2,3), I just set it as (V1=1) for this example. If it were (V1=2), it would go to SF16-2(N329) etc.
    I've even tried it without variables in the G73 line and had the same results.
    Are you able to try this on a FadaL?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    Well, to date there's been 107 people look at this. None have attempted to help! I know people are busy. I thought it wouldn't take someone very long to test. Just thought this would get me some results. Perhaps they're afraid of the macro format.
    Fadal doesn't email me back anymore. I guess they don't want to bother with it either. My main concern is if a board is going bad or not. I'll try to write my own drilling cycle to get around this.
    Thanks Anyway.
    Happy Holidays to All!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    143
    What control are you running?

    Have you tried to single block it?

    Don

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    900
    Joe--
    The reason that this macro doesn't work is that it violates the restriction of the G68 code:
    • CRC can be used after rotation is in effect and should be canceled before G69
    is used. A part program cannot be rotated while CRC is in effect.
    • Rotation continues until a G69 is coded.
    • Fixture offsets are allowed with rotation. The moves to the offsets are not
    rotated.
    • Rotation must be established prior to Fixed Cycle definitions and affects only
    the positions for execution. Fixed cycles and Fixed Subroutines will not be
    rotated to another plane.
    • All X and Y (or X, Z or Y, Z or X, Y, and Z) positions are required for linear
    moves, even if they are zero or non-motion moves.
    • In the selected plane, all X, Y, I and J (or X, Z, I, K or Y, Z, J, K) positions are
    required for circular moves, even if they are zero or non-motion moves.

    Neal

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    Neal,
    Exactly which code am I violating? As far as I can see, I'm not violating any. Not using CRC, circular moves, or linear moves. And the rotation is established before the Fixed Cycle call. Does "established" mean called or moved into position? Should I put a line in after the G68 to position the XY before the cycle call? Or will this not work at all?
    I wrote the subroutine for now. It works faster than the Fixed Cycles anyway. I still would like to understand and resolve the issue for future use.
    By the way, thanks for replying.
    Joe

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    Well, answered my own question. Positioning before the Fixed Cycle call doesn't work. Same results.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4826
    I notice that you have the sign of the values in your drill cycle as follows:
    I-
    J+
    K+

    Have you tried with all positive values? If J and K are reckoned to be in the Z- direction, then I would assume 'I' should be as well. If it is a real bug, it might not work correctly with I+ on the first cycle, but should work on subsequent cycles. Depends
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    Yes. I haved tried many different scenarios. I've tried #WAIT also(inserted many different places). And the last one, positioning before the fixed cycle call. Thanks for the thought though.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4826
    What I would try is running the program with the feedrate turned way down at the start of the second running of the drill cycle, and watch the Z position display to try to quantify exactly how much the cycle is changing 'all by itself'. Maybe you can track down a variable that is not being cleared properly, or an incorrect sign...
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    900
    Joe--
    There may be a way to do this, but I will have to spend some time to figure it out. Macros can be very tricky. Since I'm no longer in the Programming Department I'll have to work on it in between my other duties in Tech Support.
    It won't be a fast answer but I'll put as much time in on it as I can.

    Neal

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    To all that have resonded, thanks for your help. Like I said I've wrote a subroutine that has even improved the cycle time. No need to rush for the answer anymore. Just curious as to what causes it for future reference. So I don't have to write a sub every time I'm using G68.
    I manufacture parts for fans. Lot of the same drill patterns with variable diameter/angular locations. G68 make this easy. I currently have 5 or 6 programs with macros for these different parts.
    Again thanks for the response, especially Neal and HuFlungDung.
    HuFlungDung, I'll try slowing it down to take readings and will post my results.

Similar Threads

  1. Canned Drilling problem.
    By sandefuj in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-22-2007, 01:20 AM
  2. drilling and drilling cycles tutorial
    By wmorre in forum MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-19-2006, 12:30 AM
  3. q about drilling o1
    By eaven in forum Composites, Exotic Metals etc
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-06-2005, 02:20 AM
  4. PCB Drilling
    By drk in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-14-2004, 03:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •