587,645 active members*
3,226 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > CNC Wood Router Project Log > My first CNC Router Build **PAULIC** (the machine)

Lightbulb My first CNC Router Build **PAULIC** (the machine)

Hello everyone!

After considerable reading here on the forum I started drawing the project and here I have the first completed version ready to share with you. I'm not very good at 3D designing so I have no perspective view of the build, hoping you will understand the drawings.

I had in mind two different constructions. First a classic design but with the gantry sliding under the table with one motor on x axis, to avoid missing steps and the gantry sliding unparallel. And second, this design, where I have total freedom regarding the size of the sheet or block that I have to carve. I want to use it for wood and lighter materials but also aluminum occasionally, The table will be independent from the machine, and I want to be able to adjust its height depending on the piece to be worked to be as close to the gantry as possible to avoid elasticity.

Then of course I was concerned about accuracy. I want to get it as accurate as possible but there must be some compromise when dealing with a large machine. This is why I chose to use ball screws with a rotating nut design.

Because I have a limited budget I will use the CNCRouterParts linear guides design. I hope to get a good precision having the steel flats rectified and aligned with epoxy resin.

I calculated the gantry at about 85kg (187 lbs) without spindle and am concerned about it being too heavy. Not sure what steppers and ball screw pitch to use. I would like to use the DIY stepper drives based on the THB6064AH chip designed by lucas. Now I'm not sure if I’ll use nema34 steppers, the maximum 50VDC/4.5A of the drives will be enough.