587,772 active members*
3,419 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Does MasterCAM X really come free with this book?

Does MasterCAM X really come free with this book?

I happened to stumble across this book that looks like it would be helpful for me. I'm very new to this and am looking for books at Amazon and at the local library that will point me in the proper direction.

It's been years since I wrote any G-code, and I just got a Bridgeport V2XT.

Can anyone tell me whether this is a functional version, and if it has any limitations? It sounds too good to be true.

[ame]http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0831133163[/ame]

For those of you that don't want to follow the link.

"Programming CNC machines" by Ken Evans, published April 30, 2007 by Industrial Press. 500 pages.

Snippet from amazon listing...
    The only textbook that covers edgeCAM CAD/CAM Programming. Project Lead the Way (PLTW) has adopted edgeCAM as the CAD/CAM program they use in their Computer Integrated Manufacturing (CIM) courses taught at high schools across the nation.
    - Includes the latest version of Mastercam--Mastercam X(color added by me)

You can download MastercamX2 for free from their own homepage. (476Mb)You pay for the license,not the program.
    Stefan Vendin

So, what limitations does the software have if you use it with no license. Obviously there would be no tech support, but what else?

Question

Luke, I believe the phrase "includes the latest version of Mastercam . . ." refers to the subject material of the text and not software included with the text. The Mastercam program requires a hardware dongle to access the software . . . no dongle, zero functionality . . . you can obtain a copy of Mastercam Design LT ( geometry creation only ) for $250 or thereabouts from a local Mastercam dealer. You can find your local dealer at www.mastercam.com.

Quote Originally Posted by LandCruiserLuke View Post