588,665 active members*
6,454 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Smithy CNC conversion, how much torque?

Smithy CNC conversion, how much torque?

Hi all,

I am new to machining but a very old hat at computers. The part where you have to know machinist type stuff I get lost, and I can't find too many mill/lathe conversions to go from.

the smithy has a 12" swing, 20" bed & the cross slide has 8" travel. I plan to cut mainly aluminum, but a fair ammount of steel, so that needs to be accounted for. I won't be in a huge hurry, but won't complain about speed.

I can't for the life of me find anyone else that has done one so I can just copy their motor specs, and the formulas are a bit daunting. I know mill/lathes have a bad rap, but I got a really good deal, and figure deal with the devil you know etc. My experience (frustration?) will transfer to my next project should I decide this is not doable.

So, what should I be looking at motor wise. Of course I want to use 60 in/oz printer motors, but am guessing that might not work. I am not totally opposed to belts or reduction boxes...

take care & thanks,

Jester

For that size of machine 60 oz. motors just wouldn't do. If you did want to use them, they would have to be belted down so far that it would take forever to do anything. If you really want to use printer motors, the HP Laserjet 3's and 4's have motors rated at 100 oz.
    If it's not nailed down, it's mine.
    If I can pry it loose, it's not nailed down.