587,259 active members*
3,398 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Z axis crashing

Hi
    Anyone out there help me with Mach 3 crashing Z home all the time if sofware limits not active?
    Running Bridgeport mill, if DRO out then program will continue to try to drive up even though i can see the switch being activated in the diagnostics screen.

Can you give us some more info. What do you mean with if sofware limits not active?

What controll, What is DRO? Does it crash or just overtravel, Does it crash or overtravel before it makes the limit?

If you are using mach3, you must check that your limit override is off before doing any movement on any axis, this only should be used to jog the machine out when the machine hits any limit switch, although I am relatively new at this, I had some of the same trouble at first on my router.

Quote Originally Posted by Phillip69 View Post
    Can you give us some more info. What do you mean with if sofware limits not active?

What controll, What is DRO? Does it crash or just overtravel, Does it crash or overtravel before it makes the limit?
    If I deselect the software limits in Mach the Z travel will try to go past the home switch and usually jams.
    DRO is the Digital Readout in Mach, for the Z axis.
    With the old boss system when it hits the Z decel and slows down then creeps up to the Z home. I would think there should be a way to use the Z decel to stop travel without using the software limits?