588,204 active members*
4,078 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Programming M-Codes from scratch

Hey all!

I work in an auto parts plant, and we have a lot of NC machines with Fanuc controls on them. The ones I'm interested in right now use a Fanuc 30i controller.

I've never had CNC experience before working here (I'm an Engineer by trade), but have managed to pick up NC coding quite quickly.

However, there is something I don't get; I don't know how to write my own M-codes. I've been looking into it on and off for years, but now I want and need to get to know how to do it. :drowning:

I have a need to write several M-codes, but from what I can tell, an M-code is not just a 'program' like a piece of ladder logic.

On our machine, I believe the M-codes are called by a "DECB' block. However, I don't understand the basic structure of an M-Code!

I want to write some new codes that will allow me to check sensor values on the fly, and to react to them accordingly.

I can find the program in which the M-codes exist, but I can't see the 'guts', if you will of the M-code.

How can I find out exacty how a certain M-code is costructed, and how can I write and isert my own?

Thanks!

I also would like to know the answer.
    The only thing I know is that except a few M codes such as M00, M01....,M98, all M codes are defined by MTB. I do not know how.

If you do not get any reply, send a personal message to Dan Fritz. He appears to know everything!

I am not that familiar with the i series, but the normal Fanuc method is for the CNC to pass MST codes over to the PMC ladder via registers where is is processed by the PMC. and the PMC uses the same method to acknowledge the same over what is called the BMI bus (basic machine Interface), the CNC block is held up until it receives a FINish signal from the PMC, i.e. when the M,S,T code has completed.
    The M.S.T codes are written and decoded in the ladder itself.