588,510 active members*
5,509 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hybrid View

Cutting fluid

Hey everyone,
    I just purchased a Haas VM2, and am doing some shopping for cutting fluid right now. I am pretty new to the selection of cutting fluid, so I could use some input from some fellow haas users.

I want something that wont cause too much skin irritation, and will be relatively low maintenence.

I have done some reading up on various cutting fluids and have had some reccomendations, but am still shopping for more input. I am not too familiar with some of the names, but at my last job, we used this milky blueish fluid, and now at Caterpillar we use this clear fluid. I was also reccomended to use Castrol Syntilo 9926. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
    Albert

Try Trim.

trim?

I am leaning strongly towards the hangsterfers S500 right now. Any input as to chlorine vs non chlorinated?

personally I like Valenite VNT700 ( with the blue dye )... it stays non stinky for a really long time

Cool Coolant

We use Blaser Swisslube Blasocut 2000. Been using it for about 5 years. We put in our bed mills, lathes and Fogbusters. Excellent product, no skin irritation yet(10 employees). Lasts a long time with no smell. Milky blue brown color. Mixes with water. Fanastic product. We went through 7 others before we found this.

The Valcool is good stuff too.I wanted to try the Hangsterfers but i've read a few posts that say it foams like crazy.

I have been using Kleen-Kool 777 for about 7 years now. I just cant find a downside. Easy to mix, no skin irritation, never grows anything. I tap a lot of #6,8,10 screws in alum...no problem.

http://www.doallsawing.com/cutting_f...hetic%20Fluids

USE THE CASTROL