587,619 active members*
3,419 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: tormach mill

Page 1 of 5 123

tormach mill

hi , is anyone actually using a tormach mill ? if so how is it doing , any issues or problems . im interested in one or a similar machine for light industrial prototype and hobby work , as i have a vmc in my shop for production work so speed isnt a big issue but accuracy is .

thanks

I looked at their homepage and was somewhat interested myself. However, as a CNC maintenance technician, I was concerned about the viability of the company to stay in business over the next five/ten years. What happens when they go belly up cause nobody's buying the equipment? To put it bluntly, if I wanted a CNC mill with R8 taper, I'd get a knee mill. And I'd also invest in a power drawbar.

For my applications requiring over 1" dia. holes to be drilled all day, the money would be better spent on a downpayment for something useful.

We have one on order- scheduled for delivery, hopefully, this month (been on order for a few months). I too have had a hard time finding anyone actually using the machine. We intend on using ours for small runs of aluminum parts. According to their documentation, it seems like it is really designed for exactly what we are doing.

What happens when they go belly up
    I think that is the great thing about the open design. Off the shelf drives, spindles, etc. You really should not need them for support should they not be there in a few years. We are very far from any big name service or support centers. That is one big reason why we chose the PCNC1100. If it breaks- we should be able to fix it ourselves instead of hiring a tech to drive 4 hours to come look at it.

I will post pics and videos as soon as we get our machine.