587,999 active members*
1,957 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Tormach Auto draw bar & R8 tooling?

Tormach Auto draw bar & R8 tooling?

Hello,

I am working with a Tormach that has a TTS with the auto drawbar and all the existing tooling for it is setup for the TTS but I am looking to use some facemills.

I am wondering if there is any easy way of using R8 tooling in this or if I have to go through the whole process of removing the auto drawbar and removing the TTS setup.

I looked at the TTS facemill but was leaning towards the Glacern FM45 series after reading so many good things about it. My current applications for it are relatively small parts needing surfacing (plates ~ 80mmx 120mm).

I'm very new to CNC and machining in general so I apologize for my newbie question.

Thank you,

Aaron

The draw bar swings away on its pivot mount so you can simply un-thread the TTS collet and replace it with a standard R8 tool. No need to remove anything but the TTS collet from the bottom of the spindle. You can then just thread it on and pivot the draw bar back. Of course the draw bar won't do anything with that tool, but the change over from TTS to standard and back is an easy operation. Leave everything in place.

I have taken to performing most of my steel roughing operations with R8 setscrew holders that I swap out instead of the TTS collet. When I take out the TTS collet, I also remove the belleville spring washers from the drawbar, and replace them with a solid bushing of equivalent length. This seems to help considerably with performance while making heavier cuts. I'm always glad to switch back to the TTS for the convenience, though.

Thank you for your replies. I see now what I have to swap out.

I have been reading contradicting points on whether or not I need to swap out the TTS system when using a face mill.