588,193 active members*
7,696 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > End of Program - Front and Center
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    143

    End of Program - Front and Center

    I'm trying to get my table to come to the front of the machine and center; This works fine but Z is running away and faulting at the top of the head. I've tried:

    G53 Z0 M9
    G53 X0 Y10. M5

    &

    G53 Z0 M9
    G53 X0 Y10. Z0 M5

    Both give me the same result when executing the second line Z+ Axis overtravel.

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks,
    Don

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1194
    Man I do not like G53!!!
    I do this


    G0Z0H0
    X0Y10.
    M30

    You can use a H0 instead of G53..G53 is very quirky

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    21
    Try G0 G90 G49 Z0 instead

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1194
    Here is a hole example for format 2 that I use

    O212 (.643 hole, single
    M6T3 (.500 DRILL/MILL
    M3S2600
    G0X0Y0
    Z.1H3D3M8
    G1Z-.8F25.
    G1G41X.3215Y0
    G3I-.3215
    I-.3215 (TWICE AROUND HOLE)
    G40 X0Y0
    G0Z.1
    M5M9
    Z0H0
    Y7. (MOVES TABLE NEAR OPERATOR)
    M30

    It really is as simple as that in format 2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    143
    OK, this works:

    G0Z0H0
    G53X0Y10
    M30

    (I think not canceling the tool offset must have been causing the problem.)

    However, does the machine have to go back to X0 Y0 at the M30(M02) command? Is there a parameter that can be set or do I need to put an M0 in front of the M30?

    Thanks,
    Don

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by donl517 View Post
    OK, this works:

    G0Z0H0
    G53X0Y10
    M30

    (I think not canceling the tool offset must have been causing the problem.)

    However, does the machine have to go back to X0 Y0 at the M30(M02) command? Is there a parameter that can be set or do I need to put an M0 in front of the M30?

    Thanks,
    Don
    Sorry, I forgot I had switched back to format 1 while trying to figure something else out. It works right in format 2.

    Thanks,
    Don

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1194
    Why are you calling G53 after homing your Z with H0? Your G53 is not needed. M30 wont make the machine go anywhere and will end the program where the axis is.

    G53 mean you are using the machines default (or cold start) co-ordinates so you will basically be going to X0 (middle of the table) and Y10. which will be the end of your y travel if you have a 20inch travel in Y. It is easier to eliminate the G53 and jog the Y to where you want it using your fixture offset or your manually inputed X0Y0 that you probly had for your part. So you jog your Y to lets say 7 or 8 inches and then you add that to the end of your program like you did bu without the G53.

    Hope I didnt confuse you

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1194
    Oops sorry I reread that you wanted the table to center and come to the front. I was trying to help you get it to just come to the front. I believe you have it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6
    Here is how I end my programs in Format 2:

    First jog the table to the desired location(front and center) then use the SETH(set home) command. You only need to do this once or until you want to change the location.

    end of program looks like this:

    M6T3(DRILL
    M3S1500
    GO X0 Y0 E1
    Z.1 H3
    G73 G98 R0+.01 Z-1. Q.25 F12.
    X1.
    X2.
    G80
    G0 Z4. (move the tool to a clearance position)
    M5 M9
    E0 Y0 X0 (clears offsets and moves to SETH position)
    M6T1
    M30

    The table will move in x and y first, then z, so don't forget the Z clearance move.

    The nice thing about this is you can position your home where ever it suits your particular setup.I always back off the Y an 1/8 inch from the axis limit to keep the table from banging against the axis limit.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    54
    G0G49Z0:
    G0G54.1P48X0Y0:
    M30:

    This is what works with the Fanuc 18i

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    463
    On ALL of our FADAL machines, we just set the home position to table X center and Y max with the table to the front. Worked well for unloading fixtures.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    21
    Try this

    G28 H0 Z0
    E0 Y0

Similar Threads

  1. SX3 Head front panel Caution!
    By keen in forum Syil Products
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-11-2007, 04:43 AM
  2. Can I add more LED's to CPU front panel?
    By Fluxion in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2007, 05:10 AM
  3. Learning to Program CNC Turning Center
    By Farmer in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-12-2005, 06:03 AM
  4. Does V20 program tool tip or tool center
    By Pat in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-17-2005, 11:46 PM
  5. Mits wire machine center program
    By turkgeltz in forum DNC Problems and Solutions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-21-2003, 11:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •