588,567 active members*
4,764 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Looking to build Joe's 2006 R2

I have been a weekend woodworker for about 6 years now and after seeing the rockler CNC Shark I started researching and reading as much as I can on the cnc shark router then stumbled on Joe's website which then linked me to this site. All I have to say is WOW after reading too much my head is now spinning in every direction. so I guess I finally did decide on the Joe's 2006 R2 model because of space constraints in my workshop. before I pull the trigger to start the build I want to get my list of parts together and vendors to calculate the cost of the build. I estimate that I may have $1500 for my build.

I have found some assembly instructions but they are dated 6/1/2006, is there any more updated BOM or assembly instructions for the R2 version?

what parts are recommended to upgrade or is there a master list I can pick and choose from?

the electronic parts that I am looking at is a 3 axis hobby cnc pro 305oz kit or the gecko G540 with the same motors from the hobby cnc kit. should I go with the 4 axis kit or some other motors/kit?

For the XY rails I was looking at the 1" OD NB Linear rod (kit8009) from vxb.com, will this work better and be more accurate than the gas pipe solution for the XY rails?

I will most likely go with a 2hp+ PC router with the precise bits collet set.

thanks
    James