588,281 active members*
5,297 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Machining Hardened Steel Shaft

Machining Hardened Steel Shaft

I'm trying to make a shaft extension for a countergear in a mower transmission. The shaft is about .700 diameter, unknown grade, and is haaarrrd. I tried using a solid carbide center drill, and it just laughed at me. I'll be the first to admit that I'm not experienced in working with hardened materials (hence my post here.)

The shaft carries several hardened and oil-impregnated spur gears on splines. Replacing the shaft outright isn't really an option, as I don't have any specs for replicating the splines. Ideally, I'd like to drill one end of the shaft to accept the extension, and then weld the two together. I'm not comfy just butt-welding the two shafts together, as I wouldn't expect to be able to maintain proper alignment during welding. I'd consider using a dowel pin to couple the shafts if I though I could make the necessary holes.

This is a short run. I only need to modify two units (or more depending on how many mistakes I make.) Do I need to grind off the hardened face of the shaft to expose machinable metal beneath?

Thanks,
    J3

It is hard to say which approach to take for machining.
    I have good luck using square die drills and machining using a ceramic insert.

In my experience you DON'T want to weld an extension on. The old shaft is high carbon steel and at will go very brittle due to welding.
    It is usually easier to make a coupling.
    If that is not possible you will need to weld then anneal and then re-harden and likely straighten it.
    www.integratedmechanical.ca

re: coupling