587,220 active members*
2,959 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: 7X wobble

7X wobble

So I started playing around with my lathe out of the box & I turned a piece of aluminum rod. looked pretty good. Then I turned it around, and it wobbled even after putting the finished side in the chuck.

Why is this, and how do I fix:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	7X wobble.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	35.5 KB 
ID:	118154

You can see sort of a "step" along the rod.

If I understand what you are saying, and what I see in the pic, you have a huge amount of chuck runout. Best bet, IMHO is get a 4 jaw and learn to crank it down to .001" or less runout.
    Wen I was young, I spent most of my money on fast women, slow horses, and cheap booze. The rest of it I just wasted.

Can you clarify what runout means? I just put this chunk in the lathe-turned it, flipped it, turned it again and thats what I got. Obviously something on this lathe is not right.

"Runout" in this case means "how much out of center my chuck holds" - and should be as low as possible. Good quality chucks gaurantie low rounout - cheap ones... are cheap
    My 3 jaw chuck "cheap china" quality has 0.07mm rounout - that means, if i machine a rod the same way you did - 0.15mm step could be expected. If you want perfect surface - machine whole surface in one mount. If it's impossible - you can try to use chuck with independent jaws, indicator and a lot of patience, or use collects, or turn the part between center.
    Here is something to read about lathes for beginners: Getting Started

independent jaws, indicator and a lot of patience