588,191 active members*
7,292 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Saving back mc files

Saving back mc files

Good afternoon everyone. I'm new to mastercam. I have been using for about eight months. I was just wondering if you can save a mastercam x5 file back to x4 without lossing all of the toolpaths. I used gibbscam for many years and you can do this very easy. My friend is a good programmer but he doesn't have maitanance and he has x4 and when I send him an x5 file when he opens the file it defaults all of the toolpaths and he can't see any of my settings.

In one word.....No

The only way you could work this,:-

You set up the file in X4 or X5 ( geometry only ), & "Save as" X4

He programs the job in X4, you could open, ammend & post that file in X4 . And he would still be able to do stuff with that file

Once you overwrite that file with a later verion, the toolpath ops are only available to the same ( or later ) versions. He could open ( without toolpaths only ) if he saves, then those toolpaths are gone from that file for good.

Best senario would be for you to download & install X4 - you both work at the same version level
    ( you can run both versions on the same machine )

That sucks. Mastercam is ok, however there verify sucks ass and working with solids is a joke. I really don't understand how mastercam has taken over the market. I'm not trying to bash anyone, but I just can't understand how a software this glitchy can flood the market.

You will find most software does this.

a file that is created using functions that have, say, ABCD capability in version V123
    then you open the same file in V100 that has function that were not even known to it, ( or has only ABC capability), then what would you expect would happen.....
    you would get the standard error "UNKNOWN FILE FORMAT", & it would not even let you get anything in.