588,295 active members*
5,071 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

My First 3 Axis CNC Router Build

After lurking for some time, absorbing as much information as I can, I have begun a 24"x24"x6" 3 axis CNC router. As this is my first build I am going to buy a 3 axis controller/stepper complete kit for the electronics. I'm not sure which one at this time, but that is my intent. It will have a moving gantry and stationary table. The X+Y will be skate bearing and the Z will be a linear bearing removed from an old color printer. (Which also had a decent stepper that might be used on the Z).

I am an artist and this machine will just be the first of several. I am hoping to eventually build a 4'x8'x4' 5 or 6 axis machine to take my virtual 3d work and create actual physical objects. This small first one is mostly about teaching myself how to build and use one. I'm not worried too much about resolution, though i still want it to be decent.

The frame/table/gantry will all be square tubular steel and a steel plate top for the table. (All of the steel is essentially free, leftover from a previous project).The frame will also act as the guideway/rails for the x+y.

This being my first machine I am VERY open to advice, especially regarding the electronics. I have an old laptop that I am probably going to use and several dremels. Is there any reason not to use these for my first machine? I am trying to keep the cost pretty low.

So let's see. I am currently on the market looking for:
    2-3 stepper motors
    3 axis controller boards
    1 driver
    1 power supply for steppers
    (Or a complete 3 axis electronics kit)
    And about 60 skate bearings

Anything I am missing?

Anything else I am missing?

Anyone use?

Anyone used one of these kits?
    Probotix

Well for an easy router I would check out www.buildyourcnc.com I was going to build one based off of that, but I got a welder. I have some motors if you are interested, i could cut you a deal.