587,311 active members*
3,390 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Tap Problems

Page 1 of 2 12

Talking Tap Problems

I'm new to the machining world and I have a small dilemma. Back in March my company bought a Trak DPM V5 Bed Mill. Minus some "minor" programming glitches its fine. I want to take more advantage of the Tap function in the canned processes but my problem is I break taps like crazy. I am tapping Bronze bars and plate with a .25-20 blind .201" hole using a tapping fluid called Tapfree. I know I'm not even close to hitting bottom so that is not the problem and the taps I was using were sharp and new. They were 4 flute bottoming hand taps though. I was just looking in MSC and was interested in the 2 flute high performance spiral taps that guhring makes. I'm wondering if I should use powdered metal instead of HSS or stick with it and move up to better suited taps. Thank you guys. This site is a godsend for the amatuer and novice machinist needing advice. I have learned so much about the trade

Bronze can be a realy tough material to work with.

Taps are a kind of voodoo. I have had tap companies come and demonstrate their taps out and as soon as the engineer leaves the building the taps start f'n breaking.

2flute spiral taps are always a saving grace. I can get an aluminum 2flute spiral tap to work on most metals (the engineer still tells me it won't work! Well for not working I got it to drill 320 holes in 410 stainless plate)

On the negative side they wont do well in bottoming holes. especially a .201" deep one, as the point on the flutes is longer than this.

I have recently started using a tap with alot of promis and its an xl from a company I can't remeber. If someone more knowledgable hasn't givin you some magic bullet by tuesday I will post the name of the tap.

one thing that makes life realy easy as it gives the tap a little extra durability is a floating tap holder. I get about 2-3 times the life out of a tap if I use one.