588,225 active members*
4,591 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Phase Converters > Rotary Phase Converter a Different perspective.

Rotary Phase Converter a Different perspective.

First off I am an electrician located in Ontario Canada. Started my apprenticeship in 1975 at the Nanticoke Generating Station then owned by Ontario Hydro. I moved on into High Voltage transformer distribution Grid work, then on to Construction of buildings and renovations of commerical and industrial nature.

About 15 years ago I purchased a Tos FN20 Milling machine with NST 40 taper. Not a big machine but it has a lot of versitality.( Tos was not sold in the USA because it was built in a communitist country.) The machine new in 1977 was $27K and it weighed 2200 LBS. 2 HP on the spindle, 2.5 HP on the power feed for all 3 Axis and .2HP for the coolant pump. All 600 Volts and 3 phase. I purchased the machine for $1700, it came with a vise and a 70 LBS dividing head with #4 taper and chuck. So now came the issue of how to run this machine as I only have single phase power at my home. I looked at drawings and books and even found a used Roto Phase 208/ 3 phase unit for $600 but I needed a 600 volt unit, word was they don't make it. I wondered why. So I set out to build a 240 volt single phase to 600 volt 3 phase unit.

I knew the theory and applied it. Because I am in the trade I knew where to look for used parts and built it for $300 CND.