587,998 active members*
1,777 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > Free software to generate 2-axis gcode?

Free software to generate 2-axis gcode?

I'm planning to convert a small lathe to CNC and use it as the platform for 3D printing (with a vertical slide for the 3rd axis).

I'm reasonably competent with computer programming but I'm very new to this CNC stuff. After a lot of Googling I think I have a reasonable grasp of how Reprap works and I've discovered FreeCad and PyCAM which seem to provide a reasonably simple process for designing objects and producing the GCode to drive the CNC system. I'm going to control the stepper motors with an Arduino Mega running Sprinter firmware which works with GCode sent from a PC.

I also want to be able to use the lathe as a 2-axis CNC machine for very simple metal shaping but I haven't been able to find any software that takes a drawing (not even sure whether I need to make a 2D drawing or 3D) and produces the 2-axis GCode needed to move the lathe tool while the work rotates.

Apologies if there is already a thread about this elsewhere on the Forum but Google hasn't been able to find it for me. This may be because, being new to the subject, I don't know the correct search terms.

Any direct advice or links to useful stuff will be appreciated.

...R

KCam Kellyware. I converted my manual mini lathe to cnc. It is free to download and try. Very cheap if you decide to keep using it.

Thanks Tony,
    KCam seems to be a Windows program and I should have said that I'm using Ubuntu Linux.

However you may be able to help me. It looks like KCam is designed for controlling a mill rather than a lathe. Perhaps there is some setting you use that enables it to produce GCode for a lathe and if you can explain that I may be able to get the same "trick" to work with PyCam.

Thanks again

...R

http://slic3r.org/
    http://kisslicer.com/