587,787 active members*
3,044 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Newbie with questions

Hello,
    This is my first post on your forum, bare with me please.
    This looks like the appropriate place to start this thread, but if not, sorry for the inconvenience.

I'm brand new to CNC. I've purchased a MaxNC 10 machine, and waiting on its delivery.

My purpose for buying a CNC machine is to make aluminum molds for plastic injection molding small components. These components are for my slot car business. To start, I am making a new plastic chassis (1/32 scale). The chassis will basically consist of about 14 flat parts that when fitted together will form the frame of the chassis. These pieces will all be the same thickness, about 0.042"

My "plan" is to machine the cavities for the parts on one side of a two-part aluminum mold. Not all the pieces will fit on one block, so I know more mold blocks will be required.
    The mold blocks are about 6 7/8" w x 3" h x 2"d. The molds will be used on a benchtop air powered injection machine. The machine is designed for prototyping and short runs, so it is ideal for my immediate intentions. It has a 2.0 ounce shot, and a 15,000 lb clamp.

Additionally I plan to make other small components, such as driver's heads, torso's, cosmetic engines, mirrors, interior trays, guide flags, etc. For these items I purchased a 3-D digitizer along with the CNC machine.

So there you have an idea for my basic intensions for this MaxNC 10 machine.

Here's my questions:
    1. I understand that the MaxNC machine will include some software. Does anyone here have experience with this machine and it's software?

2. If this software is inadequate for what I'm attempting, can anyone make a suggestion for what would work better? (Keep in mind I'm on a tight budget)

There's more questions I have, but figure this is a good place to start. I appreciate any helpful comments you kind folks will have.
    Kind Regards,

Tim Johnson