588,270 active members*
12,287 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thermal Dynamics - Cut Quality Questions

I have a Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster A60 on my CNC table. I have acheived some pretty decent cut quality on most of my cuts... just using the manual to setup the speeds/feeds.... but overall I lack the experience to know how to tweak for better cuts.... or to understand and "read" the signs...

My first cutting was on 14 gauge... and I really had good luck with that.... then I cut up a sheet of 3/8 inch.... overall it went very well as well... but I did notice a couple of times some dross on the parts... but it always came off very easy.

Yesterday I cut some brackets (and a logo) out of 3/16" mild steel... The edge quality of the cuts was good, but there was a lot of dross collected on the back side of the material (some knocked off easily.... some was hard to knock off).... furthermore.... some sections of the cuts were nice and clean... then it would start leaving dross.

I am hoping that someone with experience can give me some pointers to be able to diagnose and correct my cutting problems.

On the 3/16" cut yesterday ... I was using a 40amp tip ... running at 40amps.

Initial Pierce Height = .18
    Cut Height = .14 (I also later tried .12 and .11 might have been a little better)
    Speed 55 IPM
    Air Pressure 75psi

I am running a Motorguard (toilet paper?) filter.... and have another filter in line as well...

I will post some pictures with this post as well....