588,662 active members*
4,938 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Just want some constructive criticism
Page 1 of 2 12

Hybrid View

Just want some constructive criticism

First off, thank you for looking at my idea for my new machine.

Will build it with MDF and progress to plastics

Total Spindle travel: 3'-1" in the Y, 4'-9" in the X, 8" in the Z

I plan on turning the nut on the X lead screw instead of turning the screw.

I already have acme 1/2-10 screws. One is 6', the other is 4' since I knew I would be using those two sizes. The Z axis has not been bought yet.

The main issue I am wanting to talk about is the gantry, and if I will be able to achieve 8" (I am really wanting 6 at a min).

I am willing to explode any part of this design so people an see what I am doing, I am an engineer so I want to get it right during design instead of trying to do it on the fly (even though I know that will happen as well).

Once again, thank you for looking.

Ok, so people are looking but nothing constructive to say about it...I guess that's a good thing. What do the (at last count) 31 members that have looked at this, think about the gantry? Do you think I will get 8 inches of travel without any problems? Screws are my friend here, and I have design enclosure in the past, so I knew how to make something ridged.

Here is some more info...

The gantry is 3' tall from the bottom tip to the top tip and 4'-2" wide. The side pieces will be doubled to help with strength. The skirts of the side pieces are 16" in length. I am thinking this will be wide enough to support such a tall gantry. This and the 16 bearings per side...