588,195 active members*
4,967 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

G2 Arc problems

Im just getting started with a Dynapath 20 mill. I am having trouble with G2 arc command. I get an error "21 start radius <> end radius" I am using BobCad to make the program. The first thing I did was to make sure the I & J was correct. I checked this in AutoCad and it checked out. The next thing I did was to make sure the signs of I & J were correct. I did this by just changing the sign and trying it. The program is small just 3 arcs so it doesn't take long just to check it this way. The next I did was just to change it to a linear move between the points and it worked fine. I just wanted to make sure the end points were correct. Then I started thinking it was setup with polar cord. I found another G code that would take it out of polar and put it in the line before the G2. Same problem. Im not sure what else I can try. The numbers all look good, I think im putting them in correctly. Any ideas

The Dynapath wants the I and J coordinates in absolute coordinates instead of incremental. I don't know what the setting is in BobCAD, but I'm pretty sure it can be configured to output this way.

Scott

if the tolarances are not super tight on the radius you can try to change the r value +or- a little and this may help i have run a puma 350 and some time the computrer will not like the values even if they are perfectly corect

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesM479 View Post